RWNZ History

Romance Writers of New Zealand was founded in September 1990 by Jean Drew and ten other enthusiastic writers in Auckland, New Zealand, to provide support and professional development to New Zealand’s growing romance writing community.

Our mission states that we are dedicated to promoting excellence in romance writing and the romance genre, and helping writers become published and establish careers by providing networking, support, information and resources.

Our founding members—who include Daphne Clair, Robin Donald, Jean Drew, and Susan Napier—have established reputations as some of the most successful and popular romance writers in the world.

Many of our members who started out as unpublished ‘newbies’ have gone on to achieve international success—Nalini Singh, Yvonne Lindsay, Bronwen Evans, Leanna Morgan, Tracey Alvarez, Karina Bliss, Frances Housden, Natalie Anderson, Jackie Ashenden, Soraya Lane—the list goes on, and is being added to every year.